It is TOTALLY official!

I went into Whole Foods today to sign my severance notice so I really, truly, absolutely don’t have a job! Wow! Except for 2 weeks 5 years ago, I have been gainfully employment since I was 15. (Earlier if you count babysitting, painting fences, yard work and any other manual labor I could convince my neighbors to pay me to complete.) I thought that I would have this, “Oh shit, what am I going to do?!” moment but it didn’t happen. I went to the gym, ran some errands and then headed into my previous job (Blue Mountain Pizza) to fill out an application. Ashely was working and let me know that a server had left recently so it looks like I might have a job! Not bad for a day’s work 😉 Heading in on Saturday to chat with the GM so it’s not a done deal but, just like everything else with this decision, it seems like things will fall into place.

While at Whole Foods, I gave Melissa the hat I made her last night. She loved it! Hooray! I took some pictures of it this morning but they are selfies in the bathroom so the quality isn’t great. Also, please excuse my workout clothes 🙂IMG_5176 IMG_5177 IMG_5178 IMG_5179

I’m still working on the design, which isn’t very clear in these shots. I’m making 2 connected tubes on the top to help it slouch back and because I thought it would look cool. Next time around, I need to make the tubes longer but I was very happy with the first trial. Plus, it’s cashmere so it’s super lightweight but nice and toasty and oh so soft! Fun fact, the legwarmers I made were the sleeves of this sweater.

Before I headed out this morning, I spent some time with the chickens. We’ve been having some serious rain due to the upcoming hurricane and the flock has not been happy about it. The rain stopped for a bit so a few opted to hang out on our deck’s railing, preening. From left to right, we have WhoDat, Selena, Athena, Speedy and Gertie.

IMG_5182 IMG_5185

Gertie was identified as a girl when he was a chick so we named him Gertrude and called him Gertie. When we realized he was indeed a he, we thought about changing his name. He had broken a toe as a chick but we didn’t see it until it was too late to set it so we were going to go with Bender (a robot from one of my favorite shows, Futurama) but it was just too late. He was Gertie and would be forever.

Other than that, I did some chores around the house, chatted with my folks and cooked dinner when Sam came home. I think I could get used to this no job life.

Leave a Reply

