Perfect Pot Roast?

I adore pot roast! Wash some veggie, chop them up, grab a roast and toss it in the crock pot…fast, easy, leftovers for days, what’s not to love? But, and I’m going to make that a big BUT my meat is always dry. It tastes great but so dry. I am determined to change this so I’ve been scouting around the interwebs for solutions.

IMG_6149

Sam’s mom moved back from Arkansas so I thought this was a great time to give it a go. My first idea: Definitely sear the roast in a cast iron pan. (Sam made some bone-in chicken breasts this way and they were A-MAZE-ING! So juicy, even when it was the leftovers from leftover night!!) Keep everything else the same but add the meat in when it was about halfway done or roast the meat separately in the oven. While I am convinced this would work, one of the reasons I love pot roast is the start it and forget it aspect. This solution didn’t really go with that mentality so I headed over to The Pioneer Woman to see what she had to say about the matter.

A note about The Pioneer Woman: She rocks! I don’t remember how I found her but I’m sure I was googling a recipe and her site popped up. Everything I’ve used from her, whether recipes or ideas or techniques, has been spot on awesome!

She, of course, has a post about pot roast so I read through her approach. A couple things really stood out: 1) leaving the potatoes out so it won’t get mealy 2) searing the onions and carrots and 3) adding beef broth. She does hers in the oven in a roaster and I really wanted to use the crockpot. (Translation: my roaster is packed in a box, God knows where, but my crockpot was handy)

So, feeling very chef like, I used what was available to me and winged it! I halved the onions and seared them in the cast iron skillet with olive oil. The carrots got the same treatment.

IMG_6152

The roast went in next for a quick searing. I added the beef broth and used a metal spatula to scrap the skillet out, getting all those nice tasty bits. This was tossed into the crock pot on low for about 5.5-6 hours.

IMG_6163

I lined a casserole dish with foil and layered in potatoes, jicama, beets (golden and red), parsnips with olive oil, salt and pepper. I covered with foil and put in the oven. I didn’t start it until about 4 hours later so not quite start it and forget it but very close. The veggies cooked for about 1.5 hours (I had a LOT packed in the casserole dish) on 350 degrees. No pictures of the final meal because we were hungry but it turned out delicious!

There were, of course, things I would do differently. I checked the crockpot about 3.5 hours in and realized the top of the roast was out of the broth so I flipped it. I would flip the roast halfway through and only cook for 4.5-5 hours. Other than that, more onions and carrots! Only 2 things to try next time so I think this can be named the (almost) Perfect Pot Roast!!

Leave a Reply

