Super Soup!

Sam’s always been the soup master of our house…throwing whatever’s about to go bad in a pot, tossing in some spices and, boom, soup. I have been reaping the delicious benefits for years but have always been too intimidated to try one myself. We try to keep household duties as fairsy squaresy as we can so it was time for me to step up.

My first try was a bit of a cheat. We did a Low Country Boil and I used the leftovers to make a gumbo. With leftovers this good, I couldn’t really screw it up.

No pictures of the actual gumbo. We had Sam’s mom over for dinner and we pretty much devoured it. I added okra and chicken broth and then cooked off some rice and threw that in as well. Oh and I seasoned liberally with blackened fish seasoning. I adore that stuff!!

Encouraged by my success, I decided to attempt a veggie soup. 1) It’s farmers market season and I’ve been going regularly. This means I’ve been getting excited each week and overbuying produce for the house…E=Me C Veggies spoiling… 2) Veggie soup can’t be hard, right? I mean, the veggies do all the work. Plus, if shit goes sideways: drain the liquid off, call that vegetable broth and use the veggies for a quiche! No one will know your shame and everyone will think you’re super productive! 

Sometimes my eyes are bigger than the pot so not all of this (or the piles on the other counters) made it into the soup. Some things I chopped, others I diced and there was definitely some large chunks…no particular order or reason, I just went with it. I considered adding the vegetables at different times (roots first, mushrooms last, etc) so they would cook more evenly but I decided against it. I’m trying for easy, start it and forget it meals. You know, those soups that sit on low all day while you’re off with your to do list. After throwing everything in my soup pot, I topped it off with water and used beef boullion cubes for seasoning. I wanted to use broth but we were out and the cubes were there. Plus, they expire next month so might as well use them up. (Side note: how long did we have them that they’re about to expire?!)

There were probably 8 or so cubes and I used all of them. My soup pot is huge! It cooked on low all day and most of the night and it turned out great! After it was done and cooled, I filled 6 quart mason jars, 1 gallon freezer Ziploc and 2 quart freezer Ziplocs. Plenty to eat immediately and a nice bit frozen for future use. 

Like with most leftovers, the flavor has gotten better with time. Pretty spot on for a traditional vegetable soup. I’ve been eating it cold at work but at home I heat it up and, once it’s boiling, toss an egg in for added protein. Looks disgusting but tastes awesome!! The egg adds some creaminess and body to the soup.

I’ve been thinking about trying a cream based soup next or maybe a classic tomato. Whatever’s next, I think I can say that soup intimidation is a thing of the past! 

Leave a Reply

